Named for the legendary, Pulitzer Prize-winning writer, The Horton Foote Prize was established in 2010 to award excellence in American Theater.  Presented biennially, two Prizes, including Outstanding New American Play and Promising New American Play are awarded American playwrights having written original works of exceptional quality.  Each Prize carries a cash reward of $25,000.


Theatres may submit a play for entry by invitation only.  The playwright whose work is submitted will have had a prior minimum of three other full-length plays fully produced by fully professional theatres.  The minimum of three may not include a musical, monologue, solo-act, short one act (less than 60 minutes), translation, play for children, or adaptation. They may not include playwright collaborations. The playwright will be a U.S. Citizen or U.S. permanent resident.

In January of each submission year, a letter of invitation will go out to specified professional theatres.  Only those theatres listed may submit a play for consideration.

A theatre company may submit one play per Prize cycle for consideration; multiple theatres may not submit the same play.  (It is possible for a playwright to have more than one play submitted for consideration.)  No unsolicited playwright submissions will be considered.

This year’s entry deadline is February 14, 2018.

All works receive multiple readings by nationally represented reading and selection committees.  In a final round, a jury of distinguished members of the American theatre community selects the Horton Foote Prize recipients.

The Horton Foote Prize recipients will be announced in Fall 2018.  Their achievements will be celebrated at a private reception on Monday, October 15, 2018, at The Lotos Club in New York City.

Note: The foregoing notwithstanding, The Prize may extend additional invitations to submit.